



Annexe A

Epsom & Ewell Joint Parking Strategy Task Group Terms of Reference

Membership: Representatives from Epsom & Ewell

Borough Council nominated by the

Surrey County Council Environment Committee
C Cllr Chris Frost Cllr Neil Dallen
C Cllr Colin Taylor[Chairman] Cllr Julie Morris
C Cllr David Wood Cllr Jean Smith

Substitutes:

Delegated by member of Joint Parking Strategy Group

Frequency of Meetings:

As required

Lifespan of Task Group

The Group will meet to discuss proposals and make recommendations to the Local Committee and EEBC Environment Committee for as long as required to address the needs of the Borough parking issues.

Reporting mechanism:

The Task Group will make recommendations to the SCC Local Committee [Epsom & Ewell], the EEBC Environment Committee and in line with the SCC Parking Strategy about the way forward on Controlled Parking Zones, and the development of Parking Management plans.

Officer support:

SCC & EEBC as appropriate

Consultation:

With residents, business community and police.

Aims and Objectives:

To respond to the congestion in, and parking needs of, the Borough as outlined in the Local Development Framework.

The four cornerstones of the issues that need addressing are:

- Revenue there needs to be an understanding between SCC and EEBC regarding the harmonisation of different income streams.
- Business needs and viability of all centres
- Sustainability linked to the effect of congestion on climate change
- Residents' parking needs.

Output:

The intended output of the Task Group is twofold:

- A jointly agreed draft Parking Strategy for EEBC as part of its LDF.
- A jointly agreed action plan for on-street and off-street parking.

www.surreycc.gov.uk/epsomandewell 1
Version 2.0 Date: 25 May 2010 ct/ljt